Opportunities

Beyond the classrooms and lecture halls, the University of Minnesota offers many resources and programs to enhance students’ overall educational, social, and personal experiences. Enhanced Academic Experiences, such as Service Learning and the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program, build the bridge between knowledge and real-world experience. To make sure students gain the full university experience, they can find countless ways to get involved in fun and rewarding social activities, including through our more than 800 student clubs or intramural sports teams.

A student participates in research.

Research Opportunities

The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) provides funding to U of M undergraduates who work on a research project with a faculty mentor. UROP provides a stipend (up to $1,400 for approximately 120 hours of research) and expense money (up to $300 for project-related expenses) to students. UROP is open to freshmen through seniors who are in an undergraduate degree program in good academic standing.

There are a number of Summer Research Experience Programs (SREP) in different disciplines at the U of M. In addition, institutions around the country provide opportunities for students to do full-time research projects during the summer.

Registration for Directed Study/Directed Research allows U of M students to design and carry out an independent project, working one-on-one with a faculty member for academic credit. Most, if not all, departments provide Directed Study/Research opportunities.

A study abroad group in the United
Arab Emirates.

Career Development

The U of M offers comprehensive career services for all U of M students. Services offered through colleges in five career centers across the Twin Cities campus include resume-writing workshops and critiques, mock interviews, job-search strategies, information on choosing a major and exploring careers, graduate and law school advising, career exploration courses, internship guides, and on-campus interviews with Minnesota companies.

Study Abroad

The University’s Learning Abroad Center is the University of Minnesota's comprehensive resource for study, service-learning, research, work, intern, volunteer, and travel experiences worldwide. It offers a full range of advising and support services to students, including: program selection, academic planning, financial planning, registration, credit, cultural adjustment, travel planning, travel products, and reentry. A variety of program options—300 programs in over 80 countries—have been developed to address the diverse needs of students. Programs vary in length, level, academic focus, teaching format, language requirements, cost, and degree of independence demanded of the participant.

Student DJs at the campus radio
station, Radio K.

Student Groups

The University is home to more than 800 student groups ranging from professional development programs to special interests and hobby groups. Students can use the Student Unions and Activities webpage to search for student groups based on interests such as fine arts, health and wellness, religion, diversity, politics, and many more. If a student doesn't find a group that interests them, they also have the opportunity to start their own group.

机会

除了课堂学习,明尼苏达大学还为学生提供了许多资源及项目,以加强学生整体的教育、社会、个人经验。例如公共服务机会及本科生研究机会项目这类增强学术经验的项目,将知识和实际运用联系在一起。为了确保学生在大学阶段获得更多体验,明大也为学生提供了无数的方式来参加有趣又有益的活动,包括学校中的800多个学生组织及运动队伍。

学生参加研究

研究机会

本科学生研究机会项目(UROP) 对所有明大本科学生开放申请,学生将在一位明大的教授导师的指导下研究某个研究课题。UROP 会参与的学生提供一定的资金支持(约120 小时的研究时间,1,400美元)及经费 ,并设有国际奖学金。

明大许多不同的学科在暑期设有暑期研究机会项目。同时,美国许多研究机构在暑期也为明大学生提供全职的研究项目机会。

注册了Directed Study或者Directed Research 的明大学生可以设计及实施自己独立的研究项目,与明大教师进行一对一的合作,并且获得学分。明大大多数院系提供Directed Study/Research的课程。

职业发展机会

明大学生在阿联酋参加留学项目

明大为学生提供了全面的职业发展帮助,双城分校设立的五个职业发展中心为学生提供各类职业发展服务,包括修改完善履历、模拟面试、职位搜索技能、定位专业及未来职业、研究生学习及法学院学习咨询、职业探索课程、实习指导、明州企业的校内面试等。

海外留学机会

 

明尼苏达大学海外留学中心 隶属于明大国际项目与规划部,为明大学生与教职员工提供各种海外学习、服务学习、研究、工作、实习、志愿者服务、旅行体验等机会和资源。目前,留学中心拥有300多个留学项目,覆盖全球80多个国家。

学生组织机会

学生DJ在校园电台录音

学生群体的多样性成就了课内外跨文化活动的多样性,在明大有800多个与文化、教育和课程相关的学生社团,学生可以使用学生社团与活动网站 的搜索系统根据兴趣爱好来缩小寻找自己感兴趣的社团。如果你没有找到自己想要的社团,别担心,在明大任何一个学生都有机会发起一个新的社团!