Zhang Dejun

Zhang Dejun, born in 1922 in Jiangxi, graduated from Department of Mechanics at National Southwestern Associated University with a bachelor’s degree. He then stayed and taught at the university as an instructor. In 1945, Zhang came to the University of Minnesota and received a master’s degree in agricultural engineering in 1947. 

After working as an intern in Minnesota and California for a year, Zhang returned to China. In 1949, he served as an engineer and director of Department of Design at North China Agricultural Mechanics Factory (now Beijing Internal Combustion Engine General Factory). In 1954, Zhang served as a chief technologist at Agricultural Mechanics Institute of the former First Machinery Industry Department. Zhang was in charge of the design and experiment of the first combine harvester in China. The product passed the evaluation in 1955, and received the first prize from National Mechanics Department. 

In 1956, Zhang was transferred to Jilin University of Technology and engaged in the establishment of the first academic program of agricultural mechanical design in Chinese institutions of higher education. The program started to recruit master students in 1960, and in 1981, Zhang was appointed to become one of the first supervisors for doctoral students in agricultural mechanical design and manufacture. 

Zhang is regarded as one of the founders in Chinese agricultural engineering, and he served as the deputy president of Chinese Agricultural Engineering Society, the president of Jilin Agricultural Engineering Society. In 1987, Zhang successfully organized the first International Agricultural System Engineering Academic Conference in China.

张德骏

张德骏,1922年生于江西,1942年毕业于西南联合大学机械系,获学士学位。随后留校任教。1945年,张德骏来到明尼苏达大学并于1947年获得农业工程专业硕士学位。

在明尼苏达州和加州实习工作一年后,张德骏回到中国。1949年,任华北农业机械总厂(现北京内燃机总厂)工程师及设计科科长。1954年任原一机部农业机械研究所主任工艺师,承担了中国第一台联合收割机试制工作。1955年该产品通过鉴定,并获得国家机械部一等奖。

1956年,张德骏被调任至吉林工业大学,参加筹建中国高等工科院校的首批农业机械设计专业,从1960年开始招收并培养硕士研究生,1981年他被首批批准为农机设计制造学科的博士生导师,成为中国最早的博士生导师之一。

张德骏被视为中国农业工程学科奠基人之一。他曾任中国农业工程学会第三届副理事长,中国农业工程学会名誉理事长,吉林省农业工程学会名誉理事长。1987年,张德骏成功地主持召开了首次农业系统工程国际学术会议。