Wu Shaokui

Wu Shaokui
Photo Source: www.jiaxiangwang.com

Wu Shaokui, who was born in 1905, received a bachelor’s degree in plant genetics and breeding from Jinling University (now Nanjing University) in 1929. Wu then worked as a technician in cotton breeding until 1934 when he came to the University of Minnesota with a provincial scholarship. He received a master’s degree in plant genetics in 1936 and a doctorate in 1938.

Wu was a famous agricultural educator and one of the founders of Chinese maize breeding in China. Upon his return to China, Wu taught at several agricultural colleges including Guangxi University, Jinling University, National Henan University, and Zhejiang University. He developed the “Three Magic Wands of Wu,” which is a method of increasing corn production through hybridization. Wu also served as provincial representative of Henan Province and as the national representative to the third, fourth, sixth, and seventh sessions of the National People’s Congress.

In 1974, the first Chinese delegation ever to visit the University was led by Wu. He sent his alma mater a Chinese quote that read “One thinks of the source of the stream as one takes a drink from it,” in order to show his gratitude toward the University and his mentors.

吴绍骙

Wu Shaokui
图片出处: www.jiaxiangwang.com

吴绍骙,出生于1905年,1929年获金陵大学(现南京大学)植物遗传育种学学士学位。随后他作为棉花育种工程师开展工作。1934年,他获得省奖学金,入读明尼苏达大学。他于1936年获得植物基因学硕士学位,1938年获博士学位。

吴绍骙是著名的农业学教育家,中国玉米育种的奠基人之一。他一回到中国,就任教于广西大学、金陵大学、国立河南大学和浙江大学等高校。他创造了“吴绍骙育种法”,通过杂交的方法提高了谷物产量。吴绍骙还是河南省代表和第三、四、六、七届全国人民代表大会代表。

1974年,吴绍骙与第一届中国代表团重返明大。美中学术委员会资助了这次访问。在1995年给母校的赠言中吴绍骙借“饮水思源”表达了自己对母校和导师的感激之情。