Weiming Lu

Weiming Lu
Photo Source: Weiming Lu

Weiming Lu, who grew up in a family of architects, graduated from Cheng Kung University in 1952 and received a master’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1954. He then attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he received a master’s degree in city and regional planning in 1957.

In 1959, Lu returned to Minnesota and joined the city of Minneapolis planning department where he eventually became the chief of environmental design. He was actively involved in many projects including the Interstate 35-W highway, Nicollet Mall, and the downtown skyway system. In 1971, Lu served as director of urban design for Dallas, Texas where he helped guide the growth of Dallas, save the Texas School Book Depository, and the Dallas Art District. In 1979, Lu returned to the Twin Cities and served as the deputy director for Urban Design for the Lowertown Redevelopment Corporation in St. Paul. Two years later, he became the executive director of the corporation, which is dedicated to creating a new urban village out of historic Lowertown in Saint Paul.

Weiming has received many awards including the first Quadrennial Presidential Award for Design Excellence and the Presidential Award from National Trust for Historic Preservation. He has published “Shan Shui Cities of Oriental Quality,” “The Tao of Urban Rejuvenation: Building a Livable Creative Urban Village,” among other works.

卢伟民

Weiming Lu
图片出处: Weiming Lu

卢伟民出生于建筑世家。他最初在上海交通大学学习,1949年为了躲避战争随父母移居台湾,1952年毕业于国立成功大学,1954年获得明尼苏达大学土木工程硕士学位。对城市规划的兴趣促使卢伟民就读北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校,1957年获得该校的城市规划硕士学位。

毕业后卢伟民受聘于明尼阿波利斯市政府规划部,担任都市规划师和环境设计总监。他参与的主要城市设计包括35-W州际高速公路、美国第一个市中心步行大道Nicollet Mall和著名的城市人行天桥系统。1971年卢伟民受聘于德克萨斯州达拉斯市的市政规划局副局长和都市设计主任,在该城市的迅速扩张期,他保护了德州教科书储藏所(现达拉斯郡管理大楼、肯尼迪总统在该建筑附近遭到刺杀),并参与了艺术仓库区的重建。1979年,卢伟民回到明尼苏达州双城,在圣保罗下城重建公司担任设计主任,后他成为该公司执行总裁,致力于保护圣保罗的历史古迹并通过重建带来新的城市面貌。

作为著名城市规划和发展专家,卢伟民1985年获得美国白宫颁发的总统卓越设计奖,2006年获得美国历史保护协会的总统奖。著作包括《都市重建之道-宜居创意城中村》、《山水人情再创-东方气质城市》等。