Tseng Teh-Chu

Tseng Teh-Chu, born in 1919 in Hainan, graduated from National Central University (now Southeast University) in 1942. In 1947, he received a master degree in agricultural engineering from the University of Minnesota. 

After returning to China, Tseng served as an engineer at the State Farm Administration Bureau in the Ministry of Agriculture. Then he served as a professor, department head, and vice president of Beijing Agricultural Engineering University (now Chinese Agricultural University). 

Tseng is a pioneer in Chinese agricultural mechanics and engineering. His book “Mechanical Soil Dynamics” was widely used as a textbook among institutions of higher education, and was included in the book series of “Contemporary Important Works of Science and Technology --- Agriculture”. In 1995, Tseng was elected to become an academician at the Chinese Academy of Engineering. 

In addition, Tseng actively participated in the establishment of Chinese Society for Agricultural Machinery and Chinese Society of Agricultural Engineering. He also served as a member of the academic committee at Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, a member of the committee of science and technology at Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, and Fisheries, and also a member of Chinese Association of Science and Technology. 

Tseng has received many honors and awards, among which include Advanced Individual for Education, Science, Culture and Health in Beijing, Excellent Instructor in Institutions of Higher Education in Beijing, National Outstanding Achievement Expert Award, and the first prize for National Excellent Book of Science and Technology etc. Tseng also served as a representative on the 2nd and 3rd National People’s Congress.

曾德超

曾德超,1919年生于海南,1942年毕业于重庆中央大学(现东南大学)。1947年他获得明尼苏达大学农业工程专业硕士学位。

毕业回国后,他先到中央农业部任工程师,后来到北京农业工程大学(今中国农业大学)任教授、系主任、博士生导师、副院长等职务 。

曾德超是我国农业机械和农业工程学科的奠基人,他的专著《机械土壤动力学》被广泛在高等院校用作教材,并被收入到《当代重要科技著作——农业领域》丛书。1995年,曾德超被选举为中国工程院院士。

此外,曾德超还参加创建了农业机械学会和农业工程学会,并历任中国农业科学院学术委员会委员、农牧渔业部科学技术委员会第一届委员、中国科协第二、三届委员等。

曾德超一生获得诸多奖项,其中包括北京市教科文体卫生先进个人,北京市高校优秀教师,全国第一批突出贡献专家奖,全国优秀科技图书一等奖等。同时他还曾任北京市第二、三届人大代表。