Pan Wen Huen

Pan Wen Huen
Image courtesy of the University of Minnesota Archives, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Pan Wen Huen, who was born in 1892 in Peking, was tutored at home early in his life. In 1911, he completed his studies at St. John’s University and attended Tsinghua Collge until 1912. He then began studying at the University of Michigan where he was an engineering student for two years and had a good record as a “track man”. In 1914, Pan transferred to the University of Minnesota.

Pan was very active as a student at the University. He joined the Chinese Students Club, the Cosmopolitan Club, and also played on the soccer, hockey, and tennis teams. His skills were highly praised in the University yearbook, the Gopher. In the fall of 1915, Pan was elected the captain of the hockey team, and in 1916, he was chosen to be the captain of the tennis. Pan also held many records at St. John’s University in track and won awards in tennis.

In 1916, Pan graduated from the University with a bachelor of science in engineering and returned to China. He became a physical education director at Tsinghua College in Peking, China. In 1927, he moved to Shanghai with his family where he worked for the Shanghai Telephone Company.

潘文辉

Pan Wen Huen
图片出处:明大双城档案

潘文辉,1892年出生于北京,他最早接受的教育来自家庭。1911年,他完成了在圣约翰大学的学习,进入清华学堂;1912年,他就读密歇根大学,历时两年,学习工程专业。根据1914年明尼苏达大学校友周报》记载,当年的他是一名非常出色的田径运动员。1914年,潘文辉转学到明尼苏达大学。

潘文辉在明大的表现非常活跃。他参加了中国学生会(1914年)、世界学生会(1916年);他还是足球队、曲棍球队和网球队的队员。在明大年鉴中特别提到了他出色的运动能力。1915年秋天,潘文辉获选曲棍球队队长;1916年,他获选网球队队长(根据the Gopher,年鉴)。潘文辉还是圣约翰大学众多田径项目的记录保持者,并在网球比赛中获得荣誉。

1916年,潘文辉从明大毕业,获得工程学学位(1916年,明尼苏达大学校友周报),并回到中国。

根据1920年《明尼苏达大学校友周报》报道,潘文辉在北京任职清华学校教授体育。1927年,潘文辉全家迁到上海,在那里,他开始为上海电话局工作。