Ma Ta-Pu

Ma Ta-Pu, born in 1904 in Fujian, received a bachelor’s degree from Department of Forestry at National Central University in 1932. In 1936, Ma was enrolled in the University of Minnesota and received a master of science in forestry in 1937. 

After returning to China, Ma successively taught at Department of Forestry at Guangxi University, College of Agriculture at Jiangxi Zhongzheng University, Department of Biology at Anhui College, and Department of Forestry at Nanjing University. At Nanjing University, Ma also served as head of the department and dean. During 1957-1958, Ma was sent by the Ministry of Forestry to Hanoi University of Agriculture, and in 1963, the Vietnamese government awarded him “Friendship Medal” to recognize his contributions to Vietnamese economic development. 

Ma once served as the deputy board chair of Chinese Society of Forestry, and a member of Science and Technology Committee at Ministry of Forestry. In 1985, Chinese Society of Forestry honored him for his 50-year engagement in Chinese forestry. 

In addition, Ma edited many important textbooks, including “Science of Silviculture”, “Science of Forestry”, “Forest Resource Investigation and Planning”, etc. Besides, he was the chief editor of a very important reference book “Images of Major Trees and Seedlings” which has been a valuable contribution to the field of forestry. In 1983, Ma Ta-Pu was awarded the first prize of National Invention Award.

马大浦

马大浦,1904年生于福建省,1932年毕业于中央大学森林系,获农学学士学位。1936年,马大浦来到明尼苏达大学并于1937年获森林学专业理学硕士学位。

回国后,马大浦先后任教于广西大学农学院森林系、江西中正大学农学院、安徽学院生物系、和南京大学农学院森林系。马大浦在南京大学林学院还曾担任系主任和院长的行政职务。1957-1958年间,受林业部派遣,他到越南农业大学任教一年,1963年越南政府向他颁发了“友谊勋章”,以表彰他对越南经济建设所做的贡献。

马大浦还曾担任中国林学会第四届理事会副理事长,林业部科学技术委员会委员。1985年,中国林学会授予他从事林业工作50年荣誉证书。

另外,马大浦还编写出版了很多重要教材,其中包括《造林学》,《森林学》、和《森林调查规划》等。他主编的重要工具书《主要树木种苗图谱》在学术上具有重要价值。1983年,马大浦获得国家发明一等奖。