Lu Hefu

Lu Hefu
Photo Source: www.sh93.gov.cn

Lu Hefu, also named Hoff Lu, who was born in 1914, graduated with a bachelor’s degree in physics from Yanjing University in 1936. In the same year, Lu enrolled at the University of Minnesota and received a master’s degree in 1938 and a doctoral degree in physics in 1941.

After graduation, Lu returned to China and began his teaching career at Sun Yat-sen University and subsequently taught at Guangxi University, Zhejiang University, Fudan University, and Peking University. In 1957, he returned to Fudan University as a professor until his retirement.

Lu was the deputy director of the Shanghai Institute of Nuclear Research from 1960 to 1977. From 1975 to 1985, he served as the president of the Shanghai Physical Society. In 1980, he was elected an academician of the mathematics and physics division at the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Lu is regarded as the father of nuclear energy in China. As a celebrated physicist, educator, and scholar in China, Lu devoted his life to scientific research and educational work, with remarkable results, notably his world famous “equation of irreversibility.”

Lu refused to use his pioneering work in nuclear energy to help develop an atomic bomb. In 2004, Lu was honored with a sculpture in the Tate Laboratory of Physics at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. In addition, the University established the Hoff Lu Fellowship in Physics in his honor.

卢鹤绂

Lu Hefu
图片出处: www.sh93.gov.cn

卢鹤绂,出生于1914年,1936年毕业于燕京大学物理专业。同年,卢鹤绂读入明尼苏达大学,1938年获硕士学位,1941年获物理学博士学位。

毕业后,卢鹤绂回到中国,1941年执教于中山大学;随后他又执教于广西大学、浙江大学、复旦大学和北京大学。1957年,卢鹤绂重回复旦大学任教授,并一直工作到退休。1960年1977年,卢鹤绂一直担任上海和核能研究所副所长,同时他还是上海物理协会主席。1980年,卢鹤绂入选中国科学院数学与物理研究院院士。

卢鹤绂是中国核能之父。作为一名知名的物理学家、教育家和学者,卢鹤绂将毕生精力投入到了研究和教学工作中,并取得极高成就,例如发现“卢鹤绂不可逆性方程”。

卢鹤绂曾拒绝利用自己的知识帮助制造原子弹。2004年,明尼苏达大学在Tate物理实验室为他立了一座雕像,并在物理系设立了卢鹤绂研究基金。