Liu Chi-Ying

Liu Chi-Ying
Photo source: www.zju.edu.cn

Liu Chi-Ying, who was born in 1905 in Suzhou, Jiangsu, graduated from Jinling University with a bachelor of science in biology in 1929.  After graduation, Liu worked at the Bureau of Entomology of Jiangsu province and taught in the Department of Biology at Zhejiang University. In 1933, Liu came to the University of Minnesota and received his master of science degree in entomology in 1935. During his time studying at the University, he was part of the Sigma Xi Honorary Society and the Gamma Sigma Delta Honorary Society. Liu was awarded a gold key from each society.

Upon returning to China, Liu taught at Guangxi University, Zhejiang University, and Academy of Military Medical Sciences successively. In addition, Liu served as the chairman of the boards for the Hangzhou and Shanghai Entomology Societies. He also served as the deputy chair of the board for the China Entomology Society and was the deputy editor-in-chief for a journal called Acta Zootaxonomica Sinica.

Liu was one of the founders of the Chinese Journal of Vector Biology and Control. He won the first and second prizes for Awards of Military Science and Technology Advancement, and the second prize for National Natural Science. Liu served as the editor for the following important publications: The Taxonomy of Siphonapterology in China, China Vegetable Insects, The Study of Insects Control, and Medical Entomology.

柳支英

Liu Chi-Ying
图片出处: www.zju.edu.cn

柳支英,1905年生于江苏省苏州市,1929年毕业于金陵大学生物系,获理学士学位。毕业后,他在江苏省昆虫局任职并同时在浙江大学生物系任教。1933年,柳支英来到明尼苏达大学攻读昆虫研究生,并于1935年获得硕士学位。 在明大期间,他加入了两个荣誉学会:美国科学荣誉学会和美国农学荣誉学会,并被授予两枚金钥匙。

回国后,柳支英先后任教于广西大学、浙江大学、军事医学科学院。此外,他还曾任杭州省、上海市昆虫学会理事长、中国昆虫学会副理事长,《动物分类学报》副主编。

柳支英是中国媒介生物学及其防制的奠基人之一,曾获军队科技进步一、二等奖各一项,国家自然科学二等奖一项。编著有《中国蚤目志》、《中国蔬菜害虫》、《害虫防制学》、《医学昆虫学》等。