Johnny Ning Chao

Johnny Ning Chao, who was born in Xi’an, Shanxi province in 1943, moved to Taiwan when he was three years old and graduated from National Taiwan University in political science in 1965. In 1968, Chao came to the U.S. to study. He received a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1971 and a doctorate degree in education from the University of Minnesota in 1979. 

Chao was a famous writer in Taiwan, and his works include “Zhao Ning’s Diary of Studying Abroad in the U.S.” (1971), “When the wind started” (1976), “On the road” (1980), “Zhao Ning’s Collection of Poetry and Comics” (1985), “What love is: Zhao Ning’s 99 letters” (1990), “Sweet Baby” (1995), “Zhao Chafang: Talking Cheerfully and Humorously” (2003), and other publications. Chao went by the name “Zhao Chafang,” which became well-known in Taiwan.

In addition to being a writer, Chao served as a host or co-host on many television shows and radio programs, including “The Big Dipper”, “Women Women,” and “Growing up with me.”

Furthermore, Chao served successively as the chief editor of “China Times,” consultant at the Chinese Television Service (CTS), chair of department of Chinese communication at National Taiwan Normal University, representative of National Assembly, senior committee member of John Tung Foundation, and president of Fo Guang College of Humanities and Society (Fo Guang University).

He received many honors including the Golden Horse Award for best movie music lyrics, Golden Goblet Award from the Republic of China Comics Society, Golden Bell Award for the best variety show host, among others.

赵宁

赵宁,1943年生于陕西西安,1946年移居台湾,1965年毕业于国立台湾大学政治学系。1968年赵宁赴美留学,并于1971年获得威斯康辛大学硕士学位,1979年获得明尼苏达大学教育学博士学位。

赵宁成为台湾知名作家,他的著作包括《赵宁留美记》(1971)、《起风的时候》(1976)、《赶路者》(1980)、《赵宁诗画集》(1985)、《问情:赵宁的99封信》(1990)、《甜蜜的宝贝》(1995)、《谈笑风生赵茶房》(2003)等等。赵宁自号为“赵茶房”,成为大家耳熟能详的称号。

除了是一位多产的作家之外,赵宁还担任过诸多电视电台节目的主持,其中包括《北斗星》、《女人女人》、《伴我成长》等等。

此外,赵宁还历任中国时报主编、中华电视公司顾问、国立台湾师范大学国文传播系所主任、国民大会代表、董氏基金会资深委员、佛光人文社会学院(先佛光大学)校长等职。

赵宁曾获金马奖最佳电影插曲作词奖、中华民国漫画协会金爵奖、金钟奖最佳综艺节目主持人奖等殊荣。