Guo Peixuan

Guo Peixuan
Photo Source: www.uky.edu

Guo Peixuan, born in Shantou, Guangdong province, graduated from Foshan University in veterinary in 1978 and in 1982, he received a master’s degree of science from South China Agricultural College. In 1984, Guo was enrolled in the University of Minnesota and received a doctorate degree in microbiology and genetics in 1987. 

After graduation, Guo completed his post-doc research at NIH in 1990, and then he served as a professor at Purdue University. In 2007, Guo held the Dane & Mary Louise Miller Endowed Chair in Biomedical Engineering and was director of the NIH Nanomedicine Development Center and professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Cincinnati. Since 2012, Guo has served as a professor in the College of Parmacy’s Department of Pharmaceutical Scieneces and held the William S. Farish Fund Endowed Chair in Nanobiotechnology for the University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center. 

Currently, Guo serve as visiting professors and consultant for many Chinese institutions of higher education and research organizations, such as Zhejiang University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Institute of Microbiology at Chinese Academy of Sciences, etc. 

Guo has achieved extraordinary academic achievements, and is considered as one of the top three nanobiotechnology experts in the world. At the same time, Guo is also an excellent entrepreneur, and is the founder of two biotechnology companies including Kylin Therapeutics, Inc. 

Guo has received many honors and awards. He received the NIH First Award in 1993, the Pfizer Distinguished Faculty Award in 1995, Purdue Faculty Scholar Award in 1998, Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology in 2005, and Distinguished Research Alumnus award from the University of Minnesota in 2009.

郭培宣

Guo Peixuan
图片出处: www.uky.edu

郭培宣,生于广东汕头,1978年毕业于佛山科学技术学院畜牧专业,1982年于华南农学院获得硕士学位。1984年就读于明尼苏达大学,并于1987年获得微生物和基因专业博士学位。

毕业后,郭培宣于1990年完成NIH博士后研究,随后任普渡大学教授。2007年,郭培宣任辛辛那提大学生物医学工程教授及Dane and Marry Louise Miller讲席教授,同时担任美国国家卫生研究院(NIH)纳米医学中心主任,美国国家卫生研究院癌症研究所纳米技术合作计划主任。2012年至今任美国肯塔基大学药学院教授和William S. Farish讲席教授。

目前郭培宣被聘为中国几所高校和研究机构的客座教授或顾问,其中包括浙江大学、华中科技大学、中国科学院微生物研究所等。

郭培宣在学术上成绩卓越,被视为世界上最优秀的三位纳米生物技术专家之一。同时,他还是一位杰出的创业者,成立了两家生物技术公司,其中包括Kylin Therapeutics公司。

郭培宣获得诸多荣誉和奖章,比如1993年获得美国NIH 一等奖,1995年获得Pfizer杰出教授奖,1998年获得普渡大学杰出教授学者奖,2005年获得费曼纳米技术奖,2009年获得明尼苏达大学杰出研究校友奖。