Doon Dayu

Doon Dayu, who was born in 1899 in Hangzhou, Zhejiang, received a bachelor of science in architecture from the University of Minnesota in 1924 following his graduation from Tsinghua College in 1922. In 1925, Doon received a master of science degree in architecture from the University.

After graduation, he worked at various architectural firms in Minneapolis, St. Paul, Chicago, and New York. From 1926-1927, Doon studied at Columbia University and received a doctorate in art and archaeology.

He returned to China in 1928 and was elected President of Chinese Society of Architects in 1929. He was appointed as the advisor and chief architect to the City Planning Commission of Greater Shanghai Municipality in 1929. He served as editor of the architectural section of the Journal of Chinese Institute of Engineers. In 1955, Doon became the Chief Architecture for the Beijing Architectural Institute of Public Construction. Some of Doon’s most notable works include Shanghai City Hall for the Nationalist Government, Shanghai Municipal Library, Shanghai Municipal Museum, Shanghai Unknown Soldiers Memorial, and Shanghai Stadium, which was later named Jiang Wan Sports Center.

董大酉

董大酉, 1899年出生于浙江省杭州市。1922年毕业于清华学堂,随后赴美留学,1924年获得明尼苏达大学建筑学学士学位;1925年获得明尼苏达大学建筑学硕士学位。 

毕业后,董大酉先后在美国明尼阿波利斯、圣保罗、芝加哥、纽约等市的建筑公司工作。1926-1927年,董大酉在哥伦比亚大学学习并获得艺术与考古学博士学位。1928年,董大酉返回中国,次年被推选为中国建筑师学会会长。1929年他被任命为上海市市中心区域建设委员会顾问和首席建筑师,同时担任中国工程学院报建筑版编辑。 

1955年,董大酉成为北京公共建设建筑院首席建筑师。他的著名设计包括:中华民国期间上海市政府大厦、上海市立图书馆、上海市立博物馆、上海无名英雄纪念碑、上海体育场(后更名江湾体育中心)。