David Y.H. Pui

David Y.H. Pui
Photo Source: www.me.umn.edu

David Pui, who was born in Shanghai, graduated from the University of Minnesota with a bachelor’s degree in 1970, a master’s degree in 1973, and a doctorate in 1976 in mechanical engineering. After graduation, Pui stayed at the University as a research associate in mechanical engineering, and in 1984, he became an assistant professor.

Pui is a Distinguished McKnight University Professor and L M Fingerson/TSI Chair in mechanical engineering. He is the author of about 250 scientific publications and  has developed or co-developed several widely used aerosol instruments. He is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a recipient of the Smoluchowski Award in 1992, the Max Planck Research Award in 1993, the International Aerosol Fellow Award in 1998, Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists in 2000, and the AAAR David Sinclair Award in 2002.

Pui served as President of the American Association for Aerosol Research and has organized several international symposia to promote research cooperation, especially among young scientists. He is currently president of the International Aerosol Research Assembly. The Chinese Academy of Sciences conferred him an Einstein Professorship in 2013.

In addition to his research engagement, Pui was the director of the China Center at the University of Minnesota from 1994 to 1998, promoting exchanges with Chinese academic institutions. The International Aerosol Research Assembly established an International Collaboration Award named after Professors Pui and Fissan.

裴有康

David Y.H. Pui
图片出处: www.me.umn.edu

裴有康,生于上海,先后于1970年、1973年和1976年获得明尼苏达大学机械工程专业的学士、硕士和博士学位。毕业后,裴有康留校任研究助理。1984年,他正式成为明尼苏达大学教授至今。

裴有康是明尼苏达大学杰出终身教授和LM Fingerson/TSI Inc公司机械工程主席,他发表了近250篇学术论文,他开发或合作开发的几个气溶胶测量方法被广泛应用。裴有康是美国机械工程师协会成员并获奖无数,其中包括1992年的Smoluchowski奖,1993年的Max Planck研究奖,1998年的国际气溶胶研究奖,2000年的Humboldt研究奖,和2002年的AAAR David Sinclair奖。

裴有康教授于2000-2001年间任美国气溶胶研究协会主席,他组织过多次国际研讨会以促进年轻教授之间的合作研究。裴教授目前是国际气溶胶研究会主席。2013年,中国科学院授予爱因斯坦讲席教授席位。

在致力于研究的同时,裴有康教授于1994年至1998年间兼任明尼苏达大学中国中心的主任,促进明大与中国学术机构的合作交流。国际气溶胶研究会成立了以裴有康教授和Fissan教授命名的国际合作奖。