Chang Kerwey Hugh

Chang Kerwey Hugh, who was born in 1901 in Jilin, enrolled at the University of Minnesota in 1923 and received a bachelor of science in agriculture in 1927. Chang went on to the University of Chicago for graduate studies in animal husbandry. He worked at an animal by-products processing company in St. Paul for two years.

In 1931, Chang returned to China and served as the vice director of Agricultural Experiment Station in Harbin until 1934 when Japan occupied northeastern China.  Chang joined the National Revolutionary Army and took on several important positions including senior advisory officer for the Eighth Route Army Headquarter. In 1946, Chang became the head of the department of construction in Jilin, and later the vice minister of the Ministry of Agriculture in Northeast government. 

Chang made significant contributions in increasing agricultural output in the Shanxi-Hubei-Shandong-Henan Border region by importing optimal varieties of corn and wheat from the U.S. 

In 1952, Chang established Shenyang Agricultural College, which is now Shenyang Agricultural University, and he served as its first president until 1974. In 1985, Shenyang Agricultural University was named by the Ministry of Agriculture as one of the eight key universities of agriculture in China. In 1987, Chang Kerwey Education Foundation was established at Shenyang Agricultural University to commemorate his life and contributions.

张克威

张克威,1901年生于吉林省吉林市,1923年就读明尼苏达大学并于1927年获得农业专业学士。随后张克威赴芝加哥大学研究生院攻读畜牧学。毕业后,张克威圣保罗的一家畜产品加工公司工作了两年。 

1931年张克威回到祖国,担任哈尔滨农事试验场副场长。1934年东北沦陷后,张克威加入了国民革命军,曾担任多个重要职位包括八路军总部高级参议。1946年,张克威任吉林省建设厅厅长,后来任东北人民政府农业部副部长。 

张克威通过从美国引进了优质的玉米和小麦品种,大大提高了晋冀鲁豫根据地的粮食产量。同时,张克威引进了优良的种马和种羊,为提高东北地区马匹和羊群质量起了很大的作用。 

1952年,张克威创建了沈阳农业学院,也就是现在的沈阳农业大学,他担任第一任校长至1974. 1985年,沈阳农业大学被农业部命名为全国8所重点农业大学之一。1987年,沈阳农业大学成立张克威教育基金会,以此来缅怀他的一生和杰出贡献。