Honorary Degree Recipients

The honorary degree is the highest award conferred by the University of Minnesota. An honorary degree may be awarded to an individual who has achieved acknowledged eminence in cultural affairs, in public service, or in a field of knowledge and scholarship. Over the past century, the University has awarded an honorary degree to 11 recipients from Greater China.

Yien-si Tsiang

Yien-si Tsiang (1915-1998), M.S. '40, Ph.D. '42, former secretary general to president of Taiwan and Minister of Education, was regarded as architect of Taiwanese Economic Miracle. He received an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University of Minnesota College of Agricultural, Food, and Environmental Sciences in 1996.


Tang Peisong (1903-2001), B.A. ’28, a plant physiologist, and co-founder of the modern Chinese Plant Physiology. He received an honorary doctor of science degree from the University of Minnesota College of Agricultural, Food, and Environmental Sciences in 1996.

Tang Peisong


Tu Guangchi

Tu Guangchi (1920-2007) was a mineral deposit and geochemical scientist. He received an honorary doctor of science degree from the University of Minnesota’s Institute of Technology  in 1999, recognizing his lifelong contributions to China and the field of geochemistry.


Wei Yu (1940 - ) , one of the first academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering in 1994. She served as the vice minister of the Ministry of Education for the People’s Republic of China from 1993 to 2002 and played a significant role in promoting China’s educational internet and long-distance education. She was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree by the University’s Institute of Technology in 1998.

Wei Yu


Lou Chenghou

Lou Chenghou (1911-2009), was a famous Chinese phytophysiologist and agricultural scientist. He received a B.S. from Tsinghua University in 1932, M.S. from Lingnan College in 1934, and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1939. He worked as vice president of China Agricultural University and vice chairman for China Phytophysiology Association. He was elected senior academician by the China Academy of Sciences in 1980. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Minnesota’s College of Agricultural, Food and Environmental Sciences in 2001.


Jiang Zhenghua (1937 - ) was vice chairman of the 10th NPC Standing Committee and chairman of the 12th Central Committee of the Chinese Peasants and Workers Democratic Party. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Minnesota’s College of Liberal Arts and China Center in 2004

 

Jiang Zhenghua


Hwei-Hsein Cheng

Hwei-Hsein Cheng (1932 -  ), University of Minnesota Professor Emeritus, has been a national and international leader in the field of natural resource use and environmental evaluation and protection. He has served as president of the American Society of Agronomy and the Soil Science Society. Since 2001 he has worked closely with the University’s China Center to organize United Nation’s Development Program projects in China. He was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree  by the University of Minnesota’s College of Agricultural, Food, and Environmental Sciences in 2004.


Fai-nan Perng (1939-  ), economist. After receiving a master’s degree in economics from the University of Minnesota in 1971, he joined the Central Bank of the Republic of China (Taiwan) and has served as governor since 1998. He was recognized as an Alumni of Notable Achievement in 2000, and awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree in 2006, both by the University of Minnesota’s College of Liberal Arts. He was listed by Global Finance magazine as one of the “world’s top bankers” for eight years in a row.
 

Fai-nan Perng

<


Lu Yongxiang

Lu Yongxiang (1942 - ) ,has made significant contributions to the development of mechanical engineering, particularly in the field of fluid power transmission and control. He was once the president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences from 1997 to 2011, and vice chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress in China. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Minnesota’s Institute of Technology in 2007.


Bai Chunli (1953-  ), Chinese scientist in nanotechnology scanning tunneling microscopy research, academician, and president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by the University of Minnesota’s College of Science and Engineering in 2011

Bai Chunli


Chen Zhu

Chen Zhu (1953 -  ),  hemotologist and molecular biologist,  and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He was also a foreign member of the United States National Academy of Sciences. He was former Minister of Health and vice chairman of the 12th National People’s Congress Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree from the China Center and the College of Science and Engineering in 2012.

华裔荣誉博士

荣誉博士学位是明尼苏达大学的最高荣誉之一,是授予对文化、公共服务等社会某一领域做出杰出贡献的人士的一种学位。在过去百年里共有十一位杰出华裔人士被授予明尼苏达大学荣誉博士学位。

Yien-si Tsiang

蒋彦士(1915-1998), 1940年获得明尼苏达大学硕士学位,1942年获得明尼苏达大学农业博士学位,曾任台湾总统府秘书长、教育部部长、行政院秘书长和中国农村复兴与联合会秘书长。1996年被明尼苏达大学农业食品和自然科学学院授予荣誉法学博士。


汤佩松(1903 - 2001), 著名植物生理学家,中国植物生理学的奠基人之一 。1928年获得明尼苏达大学本科学位。1955年当选中国科学院院士。曾任中国农业大学副校长和中国植物学会第一任理事长。1996年被明尼苏达大学农业食品和自然科学学院授予荣誉科学博士。

Tang Peisong


Tu Guangchi

涂光炽 (1920-2007),中国矿床学及地球化学家,1944年毕业于西南联合大学地质系,1949年获得明尼苏达大学博士学位,1980年当选为中国科学院院士。1999年因他毕生对中国及地球化学领域的贡献而被明尼苏达大学科技学院授予荣誉科学博士。


韦钰 (1940 - ) ,中国电子学家、教育学家,历任南京工学院院长和东南大学校长。1994年当选中国工程院首批院士。在担任中国教育部副部长期间,对中国教育网络的建设和远程教育的发展起了重要推动作用, 1998年被明尼苏达大学科技学院授予荣誉法学博士。

Wei Yu


Lou Chenghou

娄成后(1911-2009),中国著名植物生理学家、农业科学家。 1932年获清华大学生物系理学士学位。1934年获岭南大学硕士学位。1939年获美国明尼苏达大学哲学博士学位。历任中国农业大学副校长、中国植物生理学会副理事长。1980年当选为中国科学院院士. 2001被明尼苏达大学农业食品和自然科学学院授予荣誉法学博士。


蒋正华 (1937 - ) ,中国人口学家,1958年毕业于西安交通大学,曾任中国农工民主党中央委员会主席、中国人口学会常务理事、第九届和第十届全国人大常委会副委员长。2004年被明尼苏达大学文理学院和中国中心授予荣誉科学博士。

 

Jiang Zhenghua


Hwei-Hsein Cheng

程惠贤(1932 -  ), 明尼苏达大学教授,国际自然资源使用和环境评估保护专家,曾担任美国农业和水土协会主席。自2001年起与明尼苏达大学中国中心合作负责联合国开发署在中国的项目。2004年被明尼苏达大学农业食品和自然科学学院授予荣誉法学博士。


彭淮南  (1939 - ),经济学家,1971年获得明尼苏达大学经济学硕士,返回台湾后加入中央银行,自1998年至今担任 中华民国中央银行总裁,其任内台湾度过国际金融风暴,在亚洲率先开始经济复苏。2000年获得明尼苏达大学文理学院杰出校友成就奖,2006年被明尼苏达大学文理学院授予荣誉法学博士。被《全球金融》杂志连续八年评为世界最佳银行家。

Fai-nan Perng

<


Lu Yongxiang

路甬祥(1942 - ) , 中国当代流体传动及控制学专家,曾在1997 -2011年期间任中国科学院院长,第十一届全国人大常委会副委员长,2007年被明尼苏达大学科技学院授予荣誉科学博士。


白春礼(1953-)物理化学家、纳米科技专家、中国扫描隧道显微学的开拓者之一,中国科学院院士,现任中国科学院院长和世界科学院院长。 2011年被明尼苏达大学科技学院授予荣誉科学博士。

Bai Chunli


Chen Zhu

陈竺(1953-),中国血液学家,分子生物学家,中国科学院院士,美国科学院外籍院士。前任中国卫生部部长,现任第十二届全国人民代表大会常务委员会副委员长。2012年被明尼苏达大学医学院和科技学院联合授予荣誉科学博士。