Sports

Sport has long played an important role in connecting people from different cultures and countries, creating shared experiences that build profound understanding and friendship. Recognizing the strength of sharing common values through sport, the University of Minnesota has created opportunities for students to interact with Chinese peers in sport since 1914.

Chinese Athletes on Campus

During the 1914 soccer season, the University’s team won the championship, due largely to the excellence of three Chinese players, also the first three Chinese students at the University: Pan Wen Ping, Pan Wen Huen, and Kwong Yih Kum. Pan Wen Ping was later elected captain of the University soccer team and Pan Wen Huen served as the captain of the University tennis and hockey teams.

In 1981, the Chinese national basketball team visited the University and played several games against the Gopher women’s basketball team. This demonstration of diplomacy through sports is yet another example of early camaraderie between the University and China.

Opportunities in China

The culture of sport is strong at Chinese universities and provides opportunities for cultural and academic exchange. In 1980 University study abroad students played basketball with their Chinese peers at Nankai University. More recently, the College of Education and Human Development’s 2013 study abroad course “Managing Mega Sport Events” took students to China to study how to manage large sporting events. They had the opportunity to tour incredible Beijing Olympic venues such as the Beijing National Stadium and the Olympic Green Tennis Center.

University and other U.S. experts in sports and athletics now have the opportunity to interact with a Chinese audience at the University’s American Cultural Center for Sport. The center was established in 2011 to bring culturally oriented instruction, exchanges, and engagement to Chinese people. It is a collaboration between the University of Minnesota’s China Center and School of Kinesiology, and Tianjin University of Sport. The center is funded by a grant from the U.S. Department of State and holds an office at Tianjin University of Sport.

Pan Wen Ping, captain of the 1915 soccer team

Pan Wen Ping was elected captain during the 1915 soccer season.

Chinese basketball team in Minnesota

China’s national basketball team memberChen Yuefang, who stood 6 feet 8 inches tall,shot over Minnesota’s Cindy Kuhlman. China’steam won six straight games against theMinnesota team.

U of M students play basketball at Nankai University in 1980

University students played basketball withstudents at Nankai University in 1980.

体育运动

体育运动让来自不同文化及国家人们加深了联系和友谊。明尼苏达大学自1914年起致力于搭建中美体育交流的桥 梁,继70年代“乒乓外交”打开中美外交关系之门后,更多的体育交流活动正在蓬勃发展。

校园里的华裔运动员

明尼苏达大学校足球队在1914年足球赛季中夺冠,华裔队员的出色表现起到了重要作用。他们就是明大首批三位中国留学生:潘文炳、潘文辉和邝翼堃。潘文炳之后当选明大足球队队长,潘文辉则先后担任明大网球队和冰球队的队长。

1981年中国国家女篮队访问明尼苏达大学,与明大女篮校队开展了几场友谊赛。体育外交也印证了明尼苏达大学与中国的深厚友情。

向中国介绍美国体育

中国大学里的体育活动为跨文化体育交流提供了很多机会。 1980年明尼苏达大学首批赴华学习的学生们与南开大学的学生们开展了篮球友谊比赛。2013年明尼苏达大学体育学院的短期访学项目《大型体育赛事运营管理》”将课堂设在了中国,让体育专业的学生们了解如何管理类似2008年奥运会的大型国际体育赛事。学生们还参观了北京鸟巢国家体育馆和奥林匹克网球中心等各大场馆。

2011年明尼苏达大学中国中心和体育学院联合天津体育学院共同建立了中美体育文化交流中心。该项目得到了美国国务院的基金资助和美国驻华使馆的大力支持,旨在把美国体育文化介绍到中国,并促进体育文化方面的交流与合作 。

Pan Wen Ping, captain of the 1915 soccer team

1915年潘文炳当选足球队队长

Chinese basketball team in Minnesota

身高2米26的中国国家女篮队员陈月芳越过明大队员投篮。中国女篮队取得了六连胜。

U of M students play basketball at Nankai University in 1980

1980年明大学生与南开大学学生一起打篮球。