Sharing Culture

The arts have long been one of the most effective and transferable ways in which people from around the world are able to share cultural and moral values, making our world seem just a bit smaller. In the past century, the University of Minnesota has embraced Chinese art and culture in various ways from sending musicians to China to sponsoring a variety of Chinese plays on campus. American and Chinese arts and music have transcended national boundaries, opening the door to a vibrant relationship that would not otherwise be possible.

Students Take the Stage

In 1921, the University provided funds to the American Relief Administration to address the famine in China. The University’s Chinese Students’ Club staged a play titled “The Double Tenth” to raise funds, adding $400 to the $3,000 raised through a student and faculty campaign.

Following the Cultural Revolution, the University had the honor to send its student band as the first foreign band to tour China in 1980. The band played shows in Shanghai, Hangzhou, Nanjing, and Beijing.

 

Chinese theater troupe in 1921

Chinese students performed a play to raise funds to address famine in China in 1921.
 

 

U of M band in China in 1980

In 1980, the University’s student band of more than 50 members toured China.

Chinese Arts on Campus

The University has displayed several exhibitions of Chinese art on campus in the past century. In 1962, the University welcomed the Foo-Hsing Theatre from Taiwan whose performance troupe included 50 Chinese children. The troupe performed the play “The Beautiful Bait.” In 1987, the University’s China Center sponsored the Nankai University Theater Group to perform two Chinese plays, “Rickshaw Boy” and “Thunderstorm,” on campus.  

More recently, the University Department of Art collaborated with the Beijing Film Academy to produce several exhibitions on campus. In 2011, the photographic exhibit “Crisis=Opportunity” showed and then in 2012 the exhibit “Transition” was developed and displayed, in collaboration with the University’s Department of Asian Languages and Literatures. In 2013, the artwork of University students and their peers in China displayed as “Mirror/Window.” University students traveled to China to work with their counterparts to develop the exhibitions.

Beijing opera

Young members of the Foo-Hsing Theatredemonstrated acrobatic agility.

Art exhibition in 2012

The exhibit “Crisis=Opportunity” displayed at theRegis Gallery on the West Bank of the Twin Citiescampus in 2011.

艺术文化

艺术承载国际文化和价值的交流。在过去百年里,明尼苏达大学不仅举办诸多中国文化表演艺术活动让学生们感受中国文化的熏陶,而且积极把美国的音乐艺术团体送往大中华地区。音乐和艺术交流跨越了国界,让中美两国人民敞开心胸,互抒友谊。

学生登上舞台

1921年,明尼苏达大学师生筹集了3000美元善款通过美国救济管理局捐赠给中国解决当时的饥荒灾难。明尼苏达大学中国学生会自编自演了一出话剧《双十》筹集到400美元捐赠。

1980年由50多名成员组成的明尼苏达大学交响乐团受邀来中国表演,这是改革开放后来中国演出的第一支外国乐团,他们在上海、广州、南京和北京等地表演。

 

Chinese theater troupe in 1921

1921年中国留学生为中国饥荒表演话剧以募捐善款。
 

 

U of M band in China in 1980

1980年明大交响乐团在中国进行巡回演出 。

中国艺术在明大

在过去一个多世纪中,明尼苏达大学校园里举办了多次中国艺术展览。1962年台湾福兴剧院到明尼苏达大学校园表演,剧团成员包括50名中国青少年,他们表演的剧目是《美人计》。1987年,明尼苏达大学中国中心组织来自南开大学的学生剧团演出了《骆驼祥子》和《雷雨》。

最近,明尼苏达大学艺术系与北京电影学院合作,在校园举办了一系列展览。在亚洲语言和文学系的协助下,先后在2011年和2012年开办了摄影展《危机=机遇》及展览《渐变》。2013年,明尼苏达大学学生来到中国与他们的中国同学们一起合作,展出了他们的艺术作品《镜子/窗》。

Beijing opera

1962年台湾福兴剧团的小演员们展示他们高超的演技。

Art exhibition in 2012

2011年明大双城校区西岸瑞吉斯画廊摄影展《危机=机遇》。