Leadership

The University of Minnesota was one of the first U.S. universities to resume exchanges with China following the normalization of U.S.-China relations. By the late 1970s, the University resumed exchanges that had been interrupted for nearly 30 years. These exchanges were made possible through committed partnerships with universities in the greater China area, strong academic exchange programs, and cutting-edge research collaborations.

Exchanges Resume

1979 U of M Delegation

The first University of Minnesota delegation pictured at the Great Hall of the People in 1979

 

Regent Wenda Moore headed the first University of Minnesota delegation to China in 1979. The delegation was received by Chinese Vice Prime Minister Yi Fang at the Great Hall of the People and signed agreements with Jilin University of Technology, Nankai University, National Academies of Agricultural Sciences and Agricultural Engineering, and Beijing Agriculture University.

University Presidential Delegations

1981 U of M Delegation

President Magrath and his delegation pictured at the Great Hall of the People in 1981

1981 U of M Delegation

The University of Minnesota Alumni Association in Taiwan welcomed President Hasselmo during one of his two delegations to China.

2013 U of M Delegation

President Kaler renewed an agreement withthe Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2013

 

Five University of Minnesota presidents have led a total of six presidential delegations to the Greater China area. Each delegation sought to strengthen ties with universities, alumni, and the business community.

President C. Peter Magrath led the first University presidential delegation to China in 1981. The delegation visited the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, and met with more than 100 alumni from various parts of China.

Fourteen years later, President Nils Hasselmo led two University presidential delegations to China in 1995 and 1996. The visits represented a strong effort by the University to reconnect and develop ties with Chinese alumni and friends.

In 2000, President Mark Yudof led a University presidential delegation to the greater China area, where he visited Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Xi’an, Beijing, Guilin, and Taipei. The delegation had the honor to meet with Chinese Prime Minister Li Lanqing.

President Robert Bruininks led a University presidential delegation to China in 2004. The delegation visited Taiwan, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Chengdu, and Beijing.

In 2013, President Eric Kaler led a University presidential delegation to Hong Kong, Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjin, and Taipei. He renewed agreements with the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Peking University; Tsinghua University; Tianjin University of Sport; Shanghai Jiaotong University; Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; National Taiwan University; and the Confucius Institute Headquarters.

历史访问

明尼苏达大学是1979年美中邦交正常化后与中国恢复学术联系的的首批美国大学之一。在两国教育界相互隔离近三十年后,明尼苏达大学与中国的历史渊源、在美中两国取得杰出贡献的明尼苏达大学校友、以及明尼苏达大学里世界领先的科技研究让老朋友们得以再次相聚。

恢复交流

1979 U of M Delegation

1979年中国国务院副总理方毅在人民大会堂正式接见明尼苏达大学首次赴华代表团。

 

1979年,明尼苏达大学校董事会主席温达·摩尔(Wenda Moore )率团访华。他们在人民大会堂受到了当时国务院副总理方毅的隆重接见,并与吉林工业大学、南开大学、中国农业科学院以及北京农业大学(现中国农业大学)签订了合作交流协议。

校长访问

1981 U of M Delegation

1981年,马格瑞校长与代表团成员在人 民大会堂留影。

1981 U of M Delegation

海瑟曼校长(Nils Hasselmo)访华团受到了明尼苏达大学台北校友会的热烈欢迎。

2013 U of M Delegation

2013年,凯勒校长(Eric Kaler)与中国科学院续签合作协议。

 

为了保持明尼苏达大学与中国高校合作伙伴和广大华裔校友的联系,史上明尼苏达大学共有五任 校长先后六次正式率团访华。

1981年,马格瑞校长(C. Peter Magrath)首次率领代表团访华。代表团拜访了中国科学院和中国社会科学院,并且与来自中国各地的近百名校友在北京相聚一堂。

海瑟曼校长(Nils Hasselmo)于1995年和1996年先后率领代表团访华,加深了与在中国的校友及各高校合作伙伴的联系。

2000年,尤道夫校长(Mark Yudof)率团访问了香港、广州、西安、北京、桂林、台北等城市。代表团成员非常荣幸地受到了当时国务院副总理李岚清的接见。

2004年,布鲁尼克校长(Robert Bruininks)率团访问了台北、香港、广州、上海、成都及北京等城市。

2013年,凯勒校长(Eric Kaler)率团访问了香港、上海、北京、天津和台北。此行与中国科学院、北京大学、清华大学、天津体育学院、上海交通大学、香港科技大学、国立台湾大学以及国家汉办/孔子学院总部等教育机构签署了合作协议。