Faculty & Staff

The work of University of Minnesota faculty and staff is essential in maintaining and strengthening ties between the University and China. Many faculty and staff have led the way in addressing some of the world’s most pressing problems, advocating for Chinese studies on campus, and encouraging the exchange of U.S. and Chinese students.

Early Pioneers

Professor Quigley with students in China

Professor Harold Quigley pictured with students at Tsinghua College in China.

 

University professor Harold S. Quigley, form the department of political science, was one of the pioneers in developing University-China collaborations. He taught at China’s Tsinghua College from 1921 to 1923. Upon his return to the University, professor Quigley taught the course “Far Eastern Government and Politics,” which was considered the first such course to be offered in the U.S.

In 1973, University Professor Robert Poor, a well-known Bronze Age archaeologist, traveled to China and gave two lectures as part of a U.S. delegation to China. It was the second U.S. delegation to China, following President Richard Nixon’s first U.S. delegation to China in 1972. Also in 1973, the Chinese government invited University Professor Chih-Chun Hsiao to give a lecture in China. He had the distinction of being one of the first U.S.-based, China-born scientists to receive such an invitation.

University Professor Jack C. Merwin, from the College of Education and Human Development, joined the first delegation of professional educators to China in 1974. The following year, University Professor Huai C. Chiang, who is credited for the extensive agricultural research partnership between the University and China, was invited by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences to visit China. Then in 1979 he hosted one of the first visiting scholars from Mainland China to Minnesota since 1949.

Also in 1979, University Medical School Professor Paul Quie and Professor Philip Peterson hosted visiting scholar Dr. Wu Xi-Ru, a research fellow in pediatric neurology. Dr. Wu went on to become a famous Chinese pediatric neurologist and has been facilitating bilateral research exchanges with the University since then. 

 

Chinese Studies Established

In 1949, University Professor Richard Mather established the Chinese language and literature program at the University of Minnesota. For nearly four decades, Professor Mather served as the major force for Chinese studies at the University. He was highly respected in the field of early medieval Chinese studies because of his monumental translation work on the topic.

Professor Richard Mather

Professor Richard Mather

 

Professor CJ Liu

Professor Chun-Jo Liu

 

Legendary Leadership

University Professor Chun-Jo Liu, who taught East Asian languages, spent her life building bridges between the University and China. She helped the University become one of the first U.S. universities to reach out to China in 1979. She also led trips for University professors and students, set up exchange programs, and worked to improve curriculum in the U.S. and China.

教授交流

明尼苏达大学的诸多教授为促进明尼苏达大学与中国的学术交流作出了杰出的贡献。

早期教育先驱

Professor Quigley with students in China

1921-1923年期间魁格雷教授在清华学堂与学生留影。

 

明尼苏达大学政治系的魁格雷教授是美中教育交流的先驱者之一。他 1921年-1923年期间做为客座教授在北京的清华学堂教授《西方文明》课程,与中国的政治和学术领袖均有交往,如胡适、梁启超、蒋介石和冯玉祥等。魁格雷教授返回明尼苏达大学后开设了《远东政府与政治》,是全美首次开始此类课程。

作为著名青铜器时代考古学家,明尼苏大大学历史系布尔教授于1973年应邀作为美国考古专家代表团成员访问中国。这是继1972年尼克松总统访华后美国派出的第一个赴华代表团。同年明尼苏达州大学航空工程系萧之僬教授应中国政府邀请到中国举办学术讲座,他是第一位获此殊荣的美籍华裔科学家。

1974年明尼苏达大学教育系马尔文教授作为美国首个教育代表团成员访问中国。1975年明尼苏达大学昆虫系姜怀章教授因与中国广泛的农业研究合作项目而受美国国家科学院邀请出访中国。1979年他还接待了来自中国科学院的第一位中国公派访问学者翟启慧。

1979年明尼苏达大学医学院的奎保罗教授和彼得森教授接待了另外一位中国公派访问学者吴希如博士。吴博士之后成为中国著名小儿神经学专家,并极大促进了明尼苏达大学与中国的医学领域交流。

 

创立汉语教学研究

1949年,明尼苏达大学东亚研究系马瑞志教授首次开设了《中国语言及文学》课程。他因对中国六朝时期的杰出研究和翻译成就而闻名, 在校四十多年来,马瑞志教授一直是推动促进中国研究的中坚力量。

Professor Richard Mather

1998年马瑞志教授留影。

 

Professor CJ Liu

2010年刘君若教授留影。

 

搭建校际合作桥梁

明尼苏达大学东亚系刘君若教授毕生致力于推动明尼苏达大学与中国的教育交流。在她的努力下,明大在1979年成为首批与中国恢复学术联系的三所美国大学之一。刘教授也为明尼苏达大学教授和学生访问中国牵线搭桥,主持了早期的合作交流和课程改革项目。