Collaborations

The University of Minnesota has had countless successful collaborations and strategic partnerships with Chinese universities over the past 100 years. The rich history between the University and China has paved the way for continued collaborations and partnerships, which are anticipated to flourish in the years to come thanks to several newly signed agreements.   

University-China Joint Programs

Grand Opening of the Confucius Institute in 2008

University President Robert Bruininks cut the ribbon at the grand opening of the Confucius Institute in 2008

UMM Grand Opening of Shanghai partnership

University of Minnesota-Morris faculty and staff attended the opening day of their partnership program in Shanghai, China.

 

Several University units have joint programs with partners in China. A few highlights include the Carlson School of Management’s China Executive Master of Business Administration (CHEMBA) program. With official approval from the Chinese Ministry of Education and the Academic Degrees Committee of the State Council in 1999, the program is housed in Guangzhou in collaboration with Sun Yat-Sen University Lingnan College. It is ranked as a top EMBA program in southern China and has trained over 400 alumni since 2001.

The University collaborated with Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarters and Capital Normal University in Beijing to establish the Confucius Institute at the University of Minnesota (CIUMN) in 2008. The mission of CIUMN is to promote the study of Chinese language and culture throughout Minnesota, and has offices on the University of Minnesota’s Crookston, Duluth, and Twin Cities campuses.

In 2009, the University of Minnesota-Morris signed a partnership agreement with Shanghai University of Finance and Economics. The partnership offers qualified Chinese students the opportunity to complete their first year of baccalaureate study in Shanghai and then transfer to the Morris campus. Students then earn a bachelor’s degree from the University of Minnesota

 

Sharing Specialties and Strengths

University departments and faculty generously share their expertise and welcome the knowledge of Chinese peers. These friendships have spurred wonderful collaborations including the recent partnership between the University of Minnesota-Crookston and Zhejiang Economic and Trade Polytechnic to establish an American Cultural Center for Culture Exchange in Hangzhou, China. The center opened in 2012 and offers several learning resources, including a 3D lab that allow users to “immerse” themselves in a virtual environment and interact with that environment.

The University’s School of Dentistry welcomed a delegation from Sun Yat-Sen University’s Guanghua School of Stomatology in 2013, where the two parties agreed on future collaboration in the areas of oral and maxillofacial surgery and prosthodontics. Guanghua School of Stomatology has hosted exchange faculty from the University of Minnesota in the past.

Since 2010, the University’s School of Nursing has worked with Taiwan’s National Yang Ming University School of Nursing on various projects. The partnership will continue for years to come as a collaborative agreement was renewed in 2013. The focus of the collaboration is on informatics and nursing, which is one of the University of Minnesota’s nationally ranked strengths.

战略合作

明尼苏达大学与中国高校的合作历史悠久且成果丰硕。丰蕴的历史积淀为双方合作打下了良好的基础。

联合办学项目

Grand Opening of the Confucius Institute in 2008

2008年,布鲁尼克校长为明尼苏达大学孔子学院揭幕仪式剪彩。

UMM Grand Opening of Shanghai partnership

明尼苏达大学莫瑞斯分校代表参加上海合作项目开幕仪式

 

明尼苏达大学卡尔森管理学院与中山大学岭南(大学)学院联办的中国高级工商管理硕士项目“China Executive Master of Business Administration”(简称CHEMBA项目)是1999年首批获得中国教育部和国家学位委员会批准的中外合作EMBA项目,在华南地区EMBA项目排名中位居榜首,自2001年以来已经培养了四百余名优秀商业精英人士。

2008年,明尼苏达大学与国家汉办/孔子学院总部及首都师范大学合作,共同成立了明尼苏达大学孔子学院。明大孔院的宗旨是在明尼苏达州推动中文语言和中国文化,并在明大双城主校区、克鲁斯丁分校和德鲁斯分校设立了办公室。

2009年,明尼苏达大学莫瑞斯分校与上海财经大学签署了交流合作协议,选拔完成本科第一学年的上海财经大学学生转学到明尼苏达大学莫瑞斯分校,学生完成学业后获得明尼苏达大学本科学位。

 

共享学术优势

明尼苏达大学诸多院系与中国高校研究部门建立了互相学习、各取所长的交流渠道。譬如明尼苏达大学克鲁斯丁分校与浙江经贸职业技术学院共同申请美国国务院基金后建立的美国文化交流中心。该中心成立于2010年,拥有许多高科技教学资源,特别是3D全景模拟实训系统,可以使学生在模拟教学环境中感到“身临其境”。

2013年,明尼苏达大学牙医学院接待了来自中山大学光华口腔医学院的代表团,双方就未来在口腔颌面外科及口腔修复领域的合作达成初步共识。

明尼苏达大学护理学院在全美排名领先,自2010年来与台湾国立阳明大学护理学院的多个项目进行合作。2013年双方再次签订合作协议,重点是信息学及护理学。