Chinese Students

The University of Minnesota has been an international institution since its earliest days, educating children of immigrants and offering foreign languages. Since as early as 1874, the University has welcomed outstanding international researchers and students to campus while sharing the best of Minnesota with the world. International students bring their unique backgrounds and viewpoints to university classroom, curriculum, and campus life, providing all students the opportunity to explore global perspectives.

The First Chinese Students

Wen Ping Pan

The first Chinese student, Pan Wen Ping

 

The first three students from China—Pan Wen Ping, Pan Wen Huen, and Kwong Yih Kum—enrolled at the University of Minnesota in 1914. They attended the St. John’s University in Shanghai and Tsinghua College in Beijing in China. Pan Wen Huen earned a bachelor of science degrees in chemistry in 1918 and metallurgical engineering in 1919. He settled in northern Minnesota after graduating and worked for a mining company for 40 years, retiring in 1959. Kwong graduated in 1918 with a bachelor of science in mining and returned to China.

 

Student Organizations Build Community

Chinese Students and Scholars Association

The University of Minnesota Chinese Students and Scholars Association,established in 1984,was one of the largest student organizations on campus in 2013.

Chinese Student Banquet in 1955

in 1955, the Chinese students’ club hosted a banquet for its members.

 

The first three Chinese students, along with others, established the Chinese Students’ Club in 1915. By then, the University was home to more students from China and the club was able to recruit 14 members to join. The student organizations for Chinese students or those interested in topics related to China.

中华学子

作为历史悠久的美国公立研究型大学,明尼苏达大学自成立伊始即为一所国际化的大学,为来自世界各地的移民后代提供教育机会并开设外语课程。自1874年起,明尼苏达大学开始正式接受国际学生和访问学者,并把明尼苏达的优秀成果推向世界。国际学生和学者为明尼苏达大学的课堂教学和校园生活多元化带来了独特的文化背景和学术观点,给学生们提供更广泛的全球视野机会。

 

首批中国留学生

Wen Ping Pan

首批中国留学生之一:潘文炳

 

1914年首批三位中国留学生潘文炳、潘文辉和邝翼堃抵达明尼苏达大学就读。他们在中国曾就读于上海圣约翰大学和北京清华学堂。 潘文辉1916年获得工程学学士后返回中国。其弟潘文炳1918年获得化学学士学位,1919年获得冶金工程学学位,毕业后定居在明州北部,在一家采矿公司工作了四十年直至退休。邝翼堃1918年获得冶矿学士学位后返回中国。

 

中国学生社团

1915年,早期留学生们创立了明尼苏达大学中国学生会。由于其他中国留学生的陆续到来,该学生会的规模达到了十四名成员。 中国学生会的成立不仅促进了中国留学生们之间的友谊,同时也是向明尼苏达大学师生传播中国文化的桥梁。时至今日,明尼苏达大学共有十余个与中国相关的学生社团和组织。

Chinese Students and Scholars Association

成立于1984年的明尼苏达大学中国学生学者联谊会是校园里规模最大学生团体之一(截至2013年)。

Chinese Student Banquet in 1955

1955年,中国学生会举办会员宴会。