Chinese Alumni

The University of Minnesota is proud to count Chinese alumni among the many University graduates who have excelled in their respective fields. The University strongly believes in continued alumni engagement, and provides support to Chinese alumni whose school spirit and fond memories of Minnesota have created hundreds of opportunities for alumni to connect.  

Alumni Profiles

Many University Chinese alumni have become leading experts and innovators in the fields that they studied at the University. Below are just a few examples of extraordinary alumni who have contributed greatly to the University’s legacy of excellence.

Wong Jee Lum, who earned a doctorate in dental surgery in 1922, was the first Chinese student to graduate from the School of Dentistry. He returned to China and served as a major general in the Chinese Nationalist Army on the staff of the surgeon general. In the 1950s, he established the Dentistry Department at the National Defense Medical Center in Taiwan, and served as president of the University of Minnesota Alumni Chapter in Taipei. He received the University’s Outstanding Achievement Award in 1959, one of the highest honors for alumni.

Tang Peisong graduated in 1927 and was an academician of Academia Sinica as well as one of the first academicians at the Chinese Academy of Sciences. As the founding father of plant physiology in China, Tang served as the chairperson of the Botanical Society of China and the Chinese Society of Plant Physiology.

Joseph Ling earned his doctorate in sanitary engineering in 1952 and became a distinguished environmental engineer and vice president at 3M. He pioneered the “Pollution Prevention Pays” program at 3M in 1975, a program still in place today. He was appointed by U.S. President Richard Nixon to serve on the President’s Air Quality Advisory Board.

Read More Alumni Stories

Lifelong Gophers

In 2009, the University established its first international office in Beijing, China. The office focuses on three core areas of recruitment, educational collaboration, and alumni relations. In addition the University of Minnesota Alumni Association has official chapters in Beijing, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Tianjin, Xi’an, and Taipei. These chapters host visiting University dignitaries and help former University students maintain their connection to the University and to Minnesota.

Wong Jee Lum, the first Chinese student to graduate from the School of Dentistry

Wong Jee Lum pictured in the 1922 Gopher yearbook.

Joseph Ling was named one of Engineering News Record’s 125 most significant people of the past 125 years in 1999

Joseph Ling, pictured, was named one of Engineering News Record’s 125 most significant people of the past 125 years in 1999.

Grand opening of the University's office in Beijing

Commissioner Zheng Dengwen, Beijing Municipal Education Commission, and a delegation from the University of Minnesota celebrated the grand opening of the University’s Beijing Office in 2009.

Hong Kong alumni chapter

President Robert Bruininks’ 2004 delegation to China met with alumni from the University of Minnesota Alumni Association chapter in Hong Kong.

中华校友

明尼苏达大学为过去百年里在美中两国各领域取得杰出成就的中国校友感到骄傲。学校希望通过维持和发展华裔校友关系,发扬明尼苏达大学探索真知、造福社会的传统,为过去、现在和未来的明尼苏达大学校友提供更好的交流机会。

校友代表

百年来近万名华裔校友的杰出人士不胜枚举,下面是几位优秀校友代表,他们为明大的优良历史传承做出了重要贡献。

黄子濂,明尼苏达大学牙医学院毕业的第一位中国博士。他1922年毕业后海归回国,在北京协和医学院任教,成为中国第一位教授美式牙科技术的教授。1935年,他担任南京国立中央大学口腔学系主任, 20世纪50年代,他是台湾国防医学院口腔科的奠基人之一,并曾担任明尼苏达大学台湾校友分会会长。1959年,他被授予明尼苏达大学杰出成就奖,此奖为明尼苏达大学授予校友的最高荣誉。

汤佩松,被誉为中国植物生理学之父,曾是中国植物协会及中国植物生理协会理事长。他1927年本科以优异成绩毕业于明尼苏达大学。他曾被评选为台湾中央研究院院士,也是首批中国科学院院士之一。

林作砥, 杰出的环境学工程师,世界五百强3M公司首任环保副总裁。他1952年获得明尼苏达大学工程学博士,1975年他在3M公司首创了 “3P”项目,提倡预防污染以及对公司盈利的重要性,该项目被沿用至今。1974年他被尼克松总统任命为“空气质量顾问委员会”成员。

阅读更多校友故事

全球校友会

2009年明尼苏达大学设立了北京办事处,协助明尼苏达大学招生、拓展主要城市的中国校友会、以及开发教育合作项目。目前明尼苏达大学全球校友会在北京、广州、香港、上海、天津、西安及台北都有分会。

 

Wong Jee Lum, the first Chinese student to graduate from the School of Dentistry

1922年黄子濂在学校年鉴上的留影。

Joseph Ling was named one of Engineering News Record’s 125 most significant people of the past 125 years in 1999

1999年,林作砥被评为全球工程领域过去125年中最有影响力的125人之一。

 

Grand opening of the University's office in Beijing

2009年,明尼苏达大学国际副校长一行以及北京市教委领导出席明尼苏达大学北京办事处(现明尼苏达大学中国代表处)的成立仪式。

 

Hong Kong alumni chapter

2004年,布鲁尼克校长(Robert Bruininks)访华代表团与明大香港校友分会的校友们聚会。